International Film Heritage Festival

Yangon, 4 – 13 November 2016

Special Events

Memory! is pleased to welcome our distinguished guests who will introduce special screenings, participate in round tables and talks, answer questions from the audience, and serve on the jury for the inaugural rounds of the Myanmar Script Fund screenwriting competition. The 4th edition of Memory! features appearances by:

Catherine Deneuve, multiple award-winning star of Indochine (1992) and The Umbrellas of Cherbourg (1967)
Michel Hazanavicius, Oscar-winning director of The Artist (2011)
Pascale Ferran, award-winning director of critically acclaimed Bird People (2014)
Hou Hsiao-Hsien, awarded Best Director at Cannes for The Assassin (2015)
Regis Wargnier, Oscar-winning director of Indochine (1992)
Davy Chou, award-winning director of Golden Slumbers (2011) and Diamond Island (2016)
Nicolas Seydoux, President of the Gaumont Film Company

This year we pay homage to the great Pierre Étaix who passed away in Paris at the beginning of October at age 87. Étaix was an actor, director, and perhaps the last of the classic comedy geniuses who inspired generations of filmmakers (including many of our guests). His work resurfaced recently only thanks to persistent efforts by the archival community, and we are pleased to present his best known film, Yoyo (1965). Our Special Events also include screenings with live accompaniment featuring traditional music from Myanmar under the supervision of U Kyi Soe Tun.


No more posts